Update + NaNoWriMo’21 Announcement

Hey y’all!

It’s been a few days, I know. I’m starting to feel pressured to put out content and make it good. I’m reading through books at 2x the speed and I’m not loving them. I don’t know if it’s the speed (which usually isn’t a problem) or my anticipation making my expectations too high, or just the pressure of needing to get content on my blog. But it’s causing me stress.

I get stressed trying to force myself to finish books quickly and get reviews written. I know I don’t retain books on a good day, but it’s getting really bad. I’m also busy with work and life outside of blogging and bookish things, and now with NaNo starting today, something has to give, even if it’s just a little bit. Continue reading “Update + NaNoWriMo’21 Announcement”

3 Books that Hit My Radar #30

I told you two (or three) posts ago that I had quite a few recommendations coming your way!

I’m sure I’m not alone in the fact that having a pretty book cross your feed is such a godsend. Then when the synopsis drags you in and you need it right now? It’s the best feeling. And with One-Clicking being entirely too easy and too much power in the hands of a reader, suddenly your Kindle is full of books that you desperately need to read.

I don’t know about you, but my eBook TBR might put my physical one to shame. All these books I recommend to y’all in these posts – I either already own them or will buy them before the month is out. And I get paid on Friday, so…

So, let’s check out these three books –

Wraithwood (The Wraithwood Trilogy #1) – Alyssa Roat

There are few things that will make me buy a book faster than “Arthurian Legend”. I’d be lying if I said that I’d need more to sell me on this book. But it sounds fantastic, and I cannot wait to read it. But seriously? Mansion, estranged uncle, magic and bloodthirsty wizards? Sign me up.

City of Thorns (The Demon Queen Trials #1) – C.N. Crawford

I mean, do I need to say more? Read the synopsis and get back to me. Like, I’m tempted to see if this has an audiobook so I can download it and listen while at work.

Made From Death (The Darkest Queens #1) – Rebecca Grey

Y’all, it sounds like we’re all sleeping on this book. The title alone makes me giddy with anticipation and then you read Because she’s been resurrected with one job to complete. Kill the queens.” And omfg.

Make sure you add them to your TBR’s and if you’ve read them, let me know your thoughts in the comments! And let me know if I’ve convinced you to buy them – I mean, for the covers alone, they should be on shelves. Continue reading “3 Books that Hit My Radar #30”

Book Review: Holiday Hotel (Simona Island #1)

Title: Holiday Hotel

Author: Poppy Minnix

Pub. Date: November 23, 2021

Pages: 246

Pub: City Owl Press

Genre: Romance

Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Goodreads


Sometimes, it takes a corset and an island getaway to bounce back from a disastrous breakup.

In the winter chill of New York City, Cozette Fay attempts to turn up the heat with a fun and sexy Ms. Claus roleplay. Unfortunately, her aloof boyfriend is more confused than aroused.

She says fa-la-la to her fizzled relationship and escapes to the tropics for Christmas where she meets Nico, a van-driving beach-hunk who secretly owns the hotel on private Simona Island. He upgrades her room, takes her on adventures, and can’t seem to keep his eyes or his hands off of her despite claiming there’s a non-fraternization policy.

It shouldn’t matter that Nico won’t share anything about himself outside of their tropical snow globe—she’s there to reunite with herself, after all—but the closer they get, the more it seems he may be the Santa to her Mrs. Clause all year round.

Readers who enjoy Christmas with You from Tracy Alverez or The One Night Stand Before Christmas from Jana Aston would enjoy Holiday Hotel.
Continue reading “Book Review: Holiday Hotel (Simona Island #1)”

Book Review: A Touch of Malice (Hades & Persephone #3)

Title: A Touch of Malice

Author: Scarlett St. Clair

Pub. Date: May 25, 2021

Pages: 418

Pub: Not Listed

Genre: Fantasy Romance Retelling

Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Goodreads


Persephone and Hades are engaged. In retaliation, Demeter summons a snowstorm that cripples New Greece, and refuses to lift the blizzard unless her daughter calls off her engagement.

When the Olympians intervene, Persephone finds her future in the hands of ancient gods, and they are divided. Do they allow Persephone to marry Hades and go to war with Demeter or prohibit their union and take up arms against the God of the Dead?

Nothing is certain but the promise of war.
Continue reading “Book Review: A Touch of Malice (Hades & Persephone #3)”

Book Review: The Last Legacy

Title: The Last Legacy

Author: Adrienne Young

Pub. Date: September 7, 2021

Pages: 368

Pub: Wednesday Books

Genre: YA Fantasy Romance

Rating: ⭐️⭐️

Goodreads


When a letter from her uncle Henrik arrives on Bryn Roth’s eighteenth birthday, summoning her back to Bastian, Bryn is eager to prove herself and finally take her place in her long-lost family.

Henrik has plans for Bryn, but she must win everyone’s trust if she wants to hold any power in the delicate architecture of the family. It doesn’t take long for her to see that the Roths are entangled in shadows. Despite their growing influence in upscale Bastian, their hands are still in the kind of dirty business that got Bryn’s parents killed years ago. With a forbidden romance to contend with and dangerous work ahead, the cost of being accepted into the Roths may be more than Bryn can pay.

New York Times bestselling author Adrienne Young returns with The Last Legacy, a captivating standalone about family and blood ties, reinventing yourself, and controlling your own destiny.
Continue reading “Book Review: The Last Legacy”

Book Review: Heart of Flames (Vampire Royals of New York: Gabriel)

Title: Heart of Flames

Author: Sarah Piper

Pub. Date: July 16, 2021

Pages: 292

Pub: Two Gnomes Media

Genre: Paranormal Fantasy Romance

Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Goodreads


The road to hell is paved with good intentions… and bad blood.

For the vampire prince and his witch, the plan was simple:

Save the wolf. Capture the traitor who took him. Torture the bastard into spilling the intel on the demons working against them.

But after a string of brutal attacks leaves one vampire near death and the rest reeling from the effects of the blood curse, Gabriel and Jacinda have no choice but to hunt down their enemies at the source:

Hell.

It’s a land of imprisoned souls, unimaginable torments, and ever-shifting realms that make Earth’s most inhospitable places feel like paradise. And for the monsters who call this brutal underworld home, the newcomers look like easy prey.

But for Gabriel and Jacinda, the real enemies aren’t the demons lurking in hell’s darkest corners.

The real enemies are the demons lurking inside their own dark souls.

And the servants of hell won’t rest until every last one is brought to light.
Continue reading “Book Review: Heart of Flames (Vampire Royals of New York: Gabriel)”

Book Review: When Night Breaks (Kingdom of Cards #2)

Title: When Night Breaks

Author: Janella Angeles

Pub. Date: October 5, 2021

Pages: 480

Pub: Wednesday Books

Genre: YA Fantasy Romance

Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️.5

Goodreads


The competition has come to a disastrous end, and Daron Demarco’s fall from grace is now front page news. But little matters to him beyond Kallia, the contestant he fell for who is now lost to this world and in the hands of a dangerous magician. Daron is willing to do whatever it takes to find her. Even if it means embarking on a dark and treacherous journey, risking more than just his life, with no promise of return.

After awaking in darkness, Kallia has never felt more lost. Especially with Jack by her side, the magician with who has the answers but cannot be trusted. Together, they must navigate a dazzling world where mirrors show memories and illusions shadow every corner, one ruled by a powerful game master who could all too easily destroy the world she left behind — and the boy she can’t seem to forget. With time running out, Kallia must embrace her role in a darker destiny, or lose everyone she loves, forever
. Continue reading “Book Review: When Night Breaks (Kingdom of Cards #2)”

Book Review: Thronebreakers (Crownchasers #1)

Title: Thronebreakers

Author: Rebecca Coffindaffer

Pub. Date: October 12, 2021

Pages: 384

Pub: HarperTeen

Genre: YA LGBT SFF

Rating: 🚀🚀🚀🚀🚀

Goodreads


Perfect for fans of Aurora Rising, The Hunger Games, and Three Dark Crowns, this electrifying duology closer is jam-packed with tension and thrills that will hook readers from its first page.

Alyssa Farshot never wanted to rule the empire. But to honor her uncle’s dying wish, she participated in the crownchase, a race across the empire’s 1,001 planets to find the royal seal and win the throne. Alyssa tried to help her friend, Coy, win the crownchase, but just as victory was within their grasp, Edgar Voles killed Coy—and claimed the seal for himself.

Broken-hearted over her friend’s death, Alyssa is hell-bent on revenge. But Edgar is well protected in the kingship. Alyssa will have to rally rivals, friends, and foes from across the empire to take him down and change the course of the galaxy.
Continue reading “Book Review: Thronebreakers (Crownchasers #1)”

Book Review: Luminous

Title: Luminous

Author: Mara Rutherford

Pub. Date: October 5, 2021

Pages: 384

Pub: Inkyard Press

Genre: YA Paranormal Fantasy Romance

Rating: ⭐️⭐️.5

Goodreads


Liora has spent her life in hiding, knowing discovery could mean falling prey to the king’s warlock, Darius, who uses mages’ magic to grow his own power. But when her worst nightmare comes to pass, Darius doesn’t take her. Instead, he demands that her younger sister return to the capital with him. To make matters worse, Evran, Liora’s childhood friend and the only one who knows her secret, goes missing following Darius’s visit, leaving her without anyone to turn to.

To find Evran and to save her sister, Liora must embrace the power she has always feared. But the greatest danger she’ll face is yet to come, for Darius has plans in motion that will cause the world to fall into chaos–and Liora and Evran may be the only ones who can stop him.
Continue reading “Book Review: Luminous”

Book Review: Kingdom of the Cursed (Kingdom of the Wicked #2)

Title: Kingdom of the Cursed

Author: Kerri Maniscalco

Pub. Date: October 5, 2021

Pages: 448

Pub: Hodder & Stoughton

Genre: YA/NA Historical Fiction Fantasy Romance

Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Goodreads


From #1 New York Times bestselling author of Stalking Jack the Ripper Kerri Maniscalco comes the sizzling, sweepingly romantic sequel to Kingdom of the Wicked!

One sister.
Two sinful princes.
Infinite deception with a side of revenge…Welcome to Hell.

After selling her soul to become Queen of the Wicked, Emilia travels to the Seven Circles with the enigmatic Prince of Wrath, where she’s introduced to a seductive world of vice.

She vows to do whatever it takes to avenge her beloved sister, Vittoria…even if that means accepting the hand of the Prince of Pride, the king of demons.

The first rule in the court of the Wicked? Trust no one. With back-stabbing princes, luxurious palaces, mysterious party invitations, and conflicting clues about who really killed her twin, Emilia finds herself more alone than ever before. Can she even trust Wrath, her one-time ally in the mortal world…or is he keeping dangerous secrets about his true nature?

Emilia will be tested in every way as she seeks a series of magical objects that will unlock the clues of her past and the answers she craves… Continue reading “Book Review: Kingdom of the Cursed (Kingdom of the Wicked #2)”