Most Anticipated Books of 2018

Now I know that it’s already February, which means I’m a little behind, but even though I’ve missed a few 2018 releases, I still have quite a LONG list of books I’m still really looking forward to this year. There are just so many good books coming out, but trust me, I’ve narrowed it down as much as I can. So bear with me –

Before I get into the list, I just want to mention a couple of favorite authors that have new projects projected to release in 2018, but there isn’t a lot of definitive information out about them yet. After doing a little bit of research, I learned that Keira Cass (The Selection Series) has a new project set to release on September 20, 2018, and I will read anything she writes. Marie Rutkoski (The Winners Trilogy), also appears to have a new book coming out. I absolutely loved The Winners Trilogy so I’m excited for this new book. ALSO – Melissa Landers has a new book coming out, tentatively called The Half King and it sounds pretty good!

I’m going to list all these books in order of release month just for organizational purpose, because I couldn’t tell you which one(s) I’m more excited for. I’ll link an Amazon link for each of these books, so go check them out!

February:

Sightwitch – Susan Dennard – February 13, 2018

“From New York Times bestselling author Susan Dennard, Sightwitch is an illustrated novella set in the Witchlands and told through Ryber’s journal entries and sketches.”

*I know this isn’t exactly the next book in the series, but I’m still so looking forward to it, because Susan Dennard is such an amazing writer, and I know she works so hard to create the best possible stories, and it shows. I love Merik and Safi and Aeduan and Iseult!  I love reading everything she writes. The Witchland Series is phenomenal, and I cannot wait! (Review for Windwitch)

The Dark Calling– Kresley Cole – February 13, 2018

“New intrigues, adventure, and stunning revelations fill the penultimate installment of #1 New York Times best-selling author Kresley Cole’s electrifying Arcana Chronicles.”

*Back in Winter of 2016, I binged all the books leading up to this final book in The Arcana Chronicles, thinking that all the books were out, until I got to Arcana Rising and was LEFT WITH A GAINT CLIFFHANGERSo I am so freaking excited for this book!

March:

More Than We Can Tell – Brigid Kemmerer – March 6, 2018

“With loving adoptive parents by his side, Rev Fletcher has managed to keep the demons of his past at bay. . . until he gets a letter from his abusive father and the trauma of his childhood comes hurtling back.”

*Luckily I’ve already had the amazing opportunity to read this book early, and let me tell you, it did not disappoint! You can read my review here. If you loved Letters to the Lost (review here) then you’ll definitely love Rev’s story. Brigid has done it again, creating such a moving story that you just want to read it again and again.

Restore Me – Tahereh Mafi – March 6, 2018

“The girl with the power to kill with a single touch now has the world in the palm of her hand.”

*I should probably reread the first three books, since it’s been a hot minute since I last read them. I remember very little of what happened through all of the books, so I’m putting them on my TBR so I can be refreshed for this next installment. I’m excited and interested to see where Juliette’s story is going to go next.

Obsidio – Amie Kaufman & Jay Kristoff – March 13, 2018

“From bestselling author duo Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff comes the exciting finale in the trilogy that broke the mold and has been called “stylistically mesmerizing” and “out-of-this-world-awesome.”

*First, I need to finish Gemina. Second, Illuminae was one of those books that kept me up until some ungodly hour in the morning, because I honestly could not put it down. I loved the way the book was written – which was one of my biggest concerns when I first saw it, but oh my god did I love it in the end. So, Obsidio is going to be amazing, I have no doubts.

April:

The Fates Divide – Veronica Roth – April 10, 2018

“In the second book of the Carve the Mark duology, globally bestselling Divergent author Veronica Roth reveals how Cyra and Akos fulfill their fates. The Fates Divide is a richly imagined tale of hope and resilience told in four stunning perspectives.”

*I just read Carve the Mark and enjoyed it a lot. (My review is scheduled to go up later this week). I felt it started a little slow, but overall I was really into the story and the characters. Carve the Mark ended on such a cliffhanger that I need to know how the story ends. So come April 10th, I’ll be buying the next book!

Winter Glass Lexa Hillyer – April 10, 2018

“Fans of Kendare Blake and Marissa Meyer will rejoice as Lexa Hillyer returns to a lush fantasy world in deep peril, concluding the dark and stunning fairy tale reinvention that began with Spindle Fire.”

*Spindle Fire was one of those books that I wish I hadn’t read right when it came out, because THE ENDING LEFT ME DYING FOR THE NEXT BOOK AND I HAD TO WAIT A YEAR TO FIND OUT WHAT HAPPENED NEXT.

May:

A Court of Frost and Starlight – Sarah J. Maas – May 1, 2018

“Narrated by Feyre and Rhysand, this bridges the events in A Court of Wings and Ruin and the upcoming novels in the series.”

*I’m so excited for the next installment of Feyre and Rhysand’s story! I love these two characters as well as the rest of the Court of Dreams, so to get another book with these characters, I’m so thrilled! I will most definitely be preordering this so that I can read it as soon as possible!

Furyborn – Claire Legrand – May 22, 2018

“The stunningly original, must-read fantasy of 2018 follows two fiercely independent young women, centuries apart, who hold the power to save their world…or doom it.”

*I have heard nothing but amazingly good things about this book, and I cannot wait to get my hands on it. The synopsis sound totally amazing, and May can’t come soon enough.

June:

A Reaper at the Gates – Sabaa Tahir – June 12, 2018

The highly anticipated third book in #1 New York Timesbestselling author Sabaa Tahir’s EMBER QUARTET.”

*I’m so ready! I loved Ember in the Ashes and A Torch Against the Night (you can read my review here for Torch). I get excited when I think about where Elias and Laia’s story is going to go next. These are such amazing novels, set in such amazing worlds, and oh my god, I cannot wait!

August:

These Rebel Waves – Sarah Raasch – August 7, 2018

“As conspiracies arise, Lu, Vex, and Ben will have to decide who they really are . . . and what they are willing to become for peace.”

*I freaking loved the Snow Like Ashes Trilogy. It’s up there as one of my favorite fantasy Trilogies ever, and I’m so excited for PIRATES!

September:

Escaping from Houdini – Kerri Maniscalco – September 18, 2018

“In this third installment in the #1 bestselling Stalking Jack the Ripper series, a luxurious ocean liner becomes a floating prison of scandal, madness, and horror when passengers are murdered one by one…with nowhere to run from the killer.”

*I’m so, so, so happy that Stalking Jack the Ripper lived up to the hype surrounding it. I’m currently listening to Hunting Prince Dracula while at work, so a review for that should be up once I finish it. Kerri Maniscalco is a freaking genius, and these stories are incredible, and THOMAS CRESSWELL AND AUDREY ROSE WADSWORTH. But THOMAS CRESSWELL. 

October:

Untitled Throne of Glass #7 – Sarah J. Maas – October 30, 2018

“The Final installment to the Throne of Glass series.”

*I don’t know much about this book, other than it’s probably going to rip my heart out and tear it to shreds. With the way Empire of Storms left off, and then Tower of Dawn (review) also left off, I know my heart is going to be ACHING. As the final installment of the Throne of Glass Series, it’s definitely going to be epic and emotional, and as much as I am dying for this book, I’m also terrified, because there is no way everyone is going to make it out alive.

The Darkest Star – Jennifer L. Armentrout – October 30, 2018

“#1 New York Times, USA Today, and internationally bestselling author Jennifer L. Armentrout returns to the universe of the Lux in this brand new series, featuring beloved characters both new and old.”

*LUC! LUXEN! I can’t wait to go back to this world!

December:

Once A King – Erin Summerill – December 4, 2018

“A new romantic fantasy set in the world of Ever the Hunted, which was called “absolutely marvelous” by New York Times best-selling author Sarah J. Maas.”

*I know nothing about this book, except that it’s a new romantic fantasy. I loved Ever the Hunted and still need to read Ever the Brave, but I love the story and Erin’s writing, so I’m excited!

I know this is an extremely LONG post, and if you stuck through the end, thank you. I’m super excited for all of these novels, which is why it’s so long. If there are any books that should be on my radar let me know!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s