Beach Reads: Weeks 1&2

img_5711I promised you this post – but I chose to postpone it until after my second trip because I knew I would read more books the second week. I also figured you wouldn’t want two almost identical posts! As for a little background, every year very close friends of my family invite us on their family vacation to the beach – to be honest, calling them “family friends” sounds wrong, we’re practically family with them at point! This year, my dad decided he wanted a second week at the beach, so only my immediate family (minus my brother and his girlfriend – they had to work) went back down to North Carolina. I got more reading done the second week, versus the third, which makes me really happy!

So, here it is! My Beach Reads Wrap Up! A full August Wrap Up is coming your way very shortly!


45043529Echoes Between Us – Katie McGarry

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ / (ARC Finished 7/29/19) / Review / GR

I have a full review posted for this book already, linked above, so I won’t go into too much detail. I absolutely loved this book and it is my new favorite of Katie McGarry’s. I connected to it a lot…for someone who has legit nothing in common with the characters. It’s a definite must read, and a definite reread in my near future.

“A girl with nothing to live for and a boy with everything to lose–can they conquer their demons together?”


43744300American Royals – Katharine McGee

⭐️⭐️⭐️.75 / (ARC Finished 7/31/19) / Review / GR

This was such a fun read, and I instantly fell in love. I also have a full review posted for this, linked above, so make sure you check it out for my full thoughts! If you like forbidden romances and drama, and have a fascination with the British Monarchy, you’ll definitely want to check this out!

“The duty. The intrigue. The Crown. New York Times bestselling author Katharine McGee imagines an alternate version of the modern world, one where the glittering age of monarchies has not yet faded–and where love is still powerful enough to change the course of history.”


40024139Serpent & Dove – Shelby Mahurin

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ / (ARC Finished 8/24/19) / Review / GR

I absolutely loved this book and already the wait for the second one is killing me. I’ve linked my full review above, so make sure you check it out! If you were a fan of Rowan and Aelin from Throne of Glass, you’ll most likely love Lou and Reid! It’s a definite must read!

“The war between witches and Church is an ancient one, and Lou’s most dangerous enemies bring a fate worse than fire. Unable to ignore her growing feelings, yet powerless to change what she is, a choice must be made.

And love makes fools of us all.”


40712557The Hidden Code – P.J. Hoover

⭐️⭐️⭐️.5 / (ARC Finished 8/25/19) / GR

If you want a book that reminds you of Indiana Jones or Lara Croft – look no further! A full review of this book is coming shortly, so keep an eye out for it! Overall, I really liked the book, but thought the ending was a bit rushed and a little convenient. I’m kind of hoping there’s a second book, because it would be interesting to see this group of characters go on another adventure.

“Now with the help of her uncle, her best friend, and another cute but not entirely trust-worthy guy, Hannah sets out to discover what happened to her parents and if the Code of Enoch is real.”


41716322A Treason of Thorns – Laura E. Weymouth

⭐️⭐️⭐️ / (ARC Finished 8/26/19) / GR

I didn’t love this book, nor did I hate it. There will be a full review up in the coming week. I thought the premise behind the story was super interesting and unique, but I kind of felt like the story lacked drive? I just think it fell flat and I didn’t really buy into the character motivations all that much. I was really looking forward to this, and I’m a bit bummed that it didn’t meet my expectations.

“Vi would do anything to help, and soon she finds herself walking the same deadly path as her father all those years before. Vi must decide how far she’s willing to go to save her house—before her house destroys everything she’s ever known.”


42281646. sy475 Tiger Queen – Annie Sullivan

⭐️⭐️⭐️.75 / (ARC Finished 8/27/19) / GR

Full review to come, so keep an eye out! I really enjoyed this book! It was a bit predictable, but I was engaged the entire way through! I enjoyed the characters, and actually was very rage-y with some of them. You really root for Kateri to earn her right to rule and her journey to get to her desire and right.

“From Annie Sullivan, author of A Touch of Gold, comes Tiger Queen, a sweeping YA fantasy adventure that tells the story of a fierce desert princess battling to save her kingdom. Fans of Rebel of the Sands and Meagan Spooner will devour this retelling of Frank Stockton’s famous short story, ‘The Lady, or the Tiger?'”


38362765. sy475 Shatter City – Scott Westerfeld

⭐️⭐️⭐️.5 / (ARC Finished 8/31/19) / GR

Again, full review will be coming shortly! I’m always down to go back to the world of the Uglies – hey Netflix, can we get a tv series? Please? But with that being said, I didn’t like this one as much. I’m not sure if it’s because it’s the second book in the series, and therefore suffers from middle book syndrome, or if too much time had passed since reading Imposters. It felt like everyone was just biding their time until the big showdown and it took me a few days to actually finish this book.

“As the city comes under a catastrophic attack, Frey must leave the shadows and enter the chaos of warfare – because there is no other way for her to find her missing sister and have her revenge against her murderous father.”


Keep an eye out this week for my August Wrap Up post, because, there are still quite a few books I read in August that aren’t on this list!

 

7 thoughts on “Beach Reads: Weeks 1&2

  1. I was loving all of your beach pictures on Twitter! I’m so sorry you didn’t love Shatter City as much. I just read and reviewed this one and loved it! I did read it pretty soon after finishing Imposters though so I do think that maybe made a difference? AND YES! Netflix definitely needs to adapt Uglies!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aww thank you!
      And same. I was really excited for it, but it just felt lacking, I guess. I looked up my rating for Imposters, and I rated it the same ass Shatter City, so idk. Maybe once the new series is complete I’ll reread them and my mind will change. And it could have been that’s it’s been a year (almost to the day) since I posted my review ( a little over a year since I read it) and that’s why I didn’t like it as much.
      and YES, with Netflix adapting all these YA books, TAKE ON UGLIES!!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I definitely feel like Imposters and Shatter City don’t capture the same essence that Uglies had that I loved so much and that’s a little disappointing. Shatter City was better about including more of the bubbly talk that I missed so much. And I loved the emotion thing. I think I’m really hoping that Tally will end up showing up at least for like 2 pages towards the end.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Agreed.
        The emotions thing was really cool, and I loved that they were depicted by emojis😂
        It would be so cool to bring Tally back. I’m definitely curious to see what’s going to happen next. I’m really kind of hoping that something is going to happen to pit Frey and Rafi against each other. I want to see that dynamic.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s