April’20 Book Haul

Despite shipping delays and just the insanity that seems to be permeating every facet of our lives right now, I still managed to haul a few books. Most are eBooks, but that’s okay since I finally caved and bought myself a new Kindle. My first Kindle was bought in 2011, I think it’s a Gen 3, and it’s dead. It refuses to sync and there’s a battery issue. I debated for about 2 months, whether or not to splurge and get the new Oasis, or just go for a Paperwhite.

Then I got a stimulus check, and I said f*ck it, and I bought an Oasis.

I love it.

With reading more and more eARCs, I was starting to get headaches from reading off my phone’s Kindle app. This will hopefully kill the headaches, or at least minimize them. I have a lot of anticipated eARCs in my queue, so I’m excited to read them on my new Kindle.

With that out of the way – I’m just really excited about my new Kindle – let’s jump into the real reason why you’re here.


ruthless godsRuthless Gods (Something Dark and Holy #2) – Emily A. Duncan

Owlcrate Exclusive Edition / ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️.5 / Review / GR

As their group is continually torn apart, the girl, the prince, and the monster find their fates irrevocably intertwined. They’re pieces on a board, being orchestrated by someone… or something. The voices that Serefin hears in the darkness, the ones that Nadya believes are her gods, the ones that Malachiasz is desperate to meet—those voices want a stake in the world, and they refuse to stay quiet any longer

I have a full review posted for this book (linked above). Once again Emily does not disappoint, and this book is a wild ride from start to finish that will have you going through a range of emotions. You won’t be prepared for the ending.


craveCrave (Crave #1) – Tracy Wolf

US Hardcover / ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️.5 / Review / GR

My whole world changed when I stepped inside the academy. Nothing is right about this place or the other students in it. Here I am, a mere mortal among gods…or monsters. I still can’t decide which of these warring factions I belong to, if I belong at all. I only know the one thing that unites them is their hatred of me.

I have a full review posted for this book (linked above). I also have another post for this book, you can check it out here, if you’re interested. I loved this book and I’m so excited for book 2! Vamps are back!


ember queenEmber Queen (Ash Princess Trilogy) – Laura Sebastian

US Hardcover / GR

The thrilling conclusion to the series that began with the instant New York Times bestseller “made for fans of Victoria Aveyard and Sabaa Tahir” (Bustle), Ember Queen is an epic fantasy about a throne cruelly stolen and a girl who must fight to take it back for her people.

I’m excited to finally finish this trilogy. I’m curious to see how it all ends, since the events that transpired in Lady Smoke dispelled what I thought was going to be the finale.


a curse of goldA Curse of Gold (Touch of Gold #2) – Annie Sullivan  

eARC / GR

Curses and queens. Pirates and kings. Gods and magic. This highly anticipated sequel to Annie Sullivans enchanting A Touch of Gold, the story of the daughter King Midas turned to gold, is the gripping crescendo to this sweeping fantasy adventure. The final saga of a cursed queen, a vengeful Greek god, and a dazzling kingdom in the balance.

I grabbed this off of Netgalley, since I’ve seriously been meaning to read A Touch of Gold since I read Tiger Queen last year. This gave me the incentive I needed to finally read book 1, which I hauled this month.


ignite the sunIgnite the Sun – Hanna Howard

eARC / GR

 Once upon a time, there was something called the sun … In a kingdom ruled by an evil witch, the sun is just part of a legend about light-filled days of old. Luckily for everybody in the kingdom, Siria Nightingale is headed to the heart of the darkness to try and restore the light–or she will lose everything trying.

Not going to lie, I mainly downloaded this off of Netgalley because of the cover. It’s gorgeous. The book sounds amazing, and while, other books unfortunately take precedence, I’m really looking forward to reading this.


the crow riderThe Crow Rider (The Storm Crow #2) – Kalyn Josepson

eARC / GR

As the rebel group prepares for war, Res’s magic grows more unstable. Thia has to decide if she can rely on herself and their bond enough to lead the rebellion and become the crow rider she was meant to be

I have a review for The Storm Crow, so if you’re interested you can check that out here. I was surprised to be approved for this book, but I’m glad I was, since I now can find out what happens next!


beauty in darknessBeauty in Darkness (Royal Hearts #1) – Elizabeth Briggs

eBook / GR

Just as Rose begins to see another side to Raith, she discovers her new home holds deep, dark secrets that threaten the entire land, secrets no one dares speak of – and he’s at the centre of them. As their desire for each other grows, Rose will do whatever it takes to uncover the truth about his past and the shadows spreading across the land. But when darkness threatens to tear them apart, they’ll have to find a way to stop it together – or doom their kingdom forever.

This was on sale recently, and I wanted to buy it to get it signed at Apollycon, so I jumped and bought the kindle version. The cover definitely drew me in, and I’m looking forward to reading it.


beneath the huanting seaBeneath the Haunting Sea (Beneath the Haunting Sea #1) – Joanna Ruth Meyer

eBook / GR

Sixteen-year-old Talia was born to a life of certainty and luxury, destined to become Empress of half the world. But when an ambitious rival seizes power, she and her mother are banished to a nowhere province on the far edge of the Northern Sea.
I have a review for Beyond the Shadowed Earth – if you’re interested you can check that out here. Yes, I read these books in the wrong order, so when book 1 was on sale, I decided to grab it to rectify that. I’m looking forward to reading this, as I’ve been a fan of everything else Joanna has written.


a touch of goldTouch of Gold (Touch of Gold #1) – Annie Sullivan

eBook / GR

King Midas once had the ability to turn all he touched into gold. But after his gift—or curse—almost killed his daughter, Midas relinquished The Touch forever. Ten years later, Princess Kora still bears the consequences of her father’s wish: her skin shines golden, rumors follow her everywhere she goes, and she harbors secret powers that are getting harder to hide.

It’s about damn time I read this book, and it might be the next one I read, just so I can get to the eARC I have of book 2. I’m also in a fantasy mood, so it works out.


What books did you haul in April?

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s