Book Review: Divine Blood (The Guardians of the Maiden #1)

Divine BloodTitle: Divine Blood

Author: Beck Michaels

Pub. Date: June 3, 2020

Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️


The Shadow demon nearly took everything from Dynalya Astron, and it would soon return for more. When she discovers a way to fight back, she must leave her remote village for the first time and risk it all for those she holds dear.

Along the way, she meets Cassiel, a Celestial prince with magic blood and wings as black as his heart. He wants nothing to do with Dyna until he learns she could lead him to a place he has been searching for all his life.

Reaching their destination is not as easy as they thought, nor are they the only ones searching for it. With danger at every turn, will they be able to get what they each desire? Or will they be consumed by the secrets and obstacles that lie ahead?

For fans of Throne of Glass and Legion of Angels comes a new debut series with remarkable characters, a budding romance, and gripping action, Divine Blood is an enchanting dark fantasy that explores the depths of loss, acceptance and the true meaning of courage. 


This will be a spoiler free review. I want to thank Beck Michaels for letting me join her ARC team and giving me a copy of Divine Blood to read, in exchange for an honest review.

I blew through this book.

Could not put it down.

It had everything.

Magic. Angels. Werewolves. Demons. Mages.  All sorts of fantastical beasts and a fantastic plot.

I’m super annoyed that I don’t have the rest of the series, because I need more.

Cassiel…swoon.

I loved Dyna’s optimistic naiveté.

I loved Zev’s fierce protectiveness.

I loved all three of them. They were far from perfect, far from healthy, all dealing with their own personal traumas. I don’t know, maybe I love tortured characters, but watching them deal with their traumas, sometimes lashing out, but realizing they have similarities and then coming to understandings, were some of the best moments in this book. Internally reflecting on what they said and how the other person reacted and trying to amend their actions was * chef’s kiss* so good. I loved the friendship that was really starting to bloom between them, and how the dynamic between the three shifted. Each had lost so much in their lives, and now they’re slowly finding new things to live for, to fight for.

Also, I legit love Cassiel and Dyna’s relationship. So much sass. His confusion as to why he’s intrigued by her, his fascination and the way he zones in on the little things about her. I loved how Dyna couldn’t stop staring at him but saw through his outer walls and didn’t judge him the same way everyone else in his life. She only judged him when he said something stupid. I loved Zev and how he’d die to protect Dyna and was intuitively keyed in on her. Almost like, in some cases, he knew what she was thinking before she did. I loved how Dyna implicitly trusted Zev, even when he was a massive threat to her. As one of the most important people to her, she is as fiercely loyal to him as he is to her.

I loved the understanding that developed between Cassiel and Zev as they realized that, maybe they really weren’t that different and had been unfairly judging the each other.

I forgot to mention that there a prophecy in this book, and a journey! A journey to find the thing that will save lives, and it’s up to Dyna. This of course attracts attention, pretty much all of it unwanted, but it sets up for so much juicy conflict and I cannot wait to see what happens next. The bad guy in this book is still kind of unknown, we only know a little bit about him, but he’s not a good guy, the reasons he wants powers are Not Good. He very much exploits people, is only out for himself, and isn’t above stealing as a means of getting what it is he wants.

I really like that this book centers around a character that really can’t fend for herself. She’s not completely helpless…she’s kind of stupid brave. Like, Dyna doesn’t always think things through before she does them, and usually ends up being saved by someone. But I think the fact that the fact she’s willing to do what more capable others should be doing, speaks volumes as to who she is. When no one else is going to stand up and do what needs to be done, she’ll take up that mantel no matter the cost.

I loved the world that was created, it came to life in my mind. Every step of the way, I could visually see the world, the various places, and even the side/secondary characters that only appeared for moments. Everything was just so vivid and felt so real, that when character’s felt things, I felt like I was right there with them, experiencing it. It’s abundantly clear, the time the author took on this book, getting it right.

I’m so glad that I saw Beck’s tweet on Twitter. I’m so glad that this book hit my radar, that I had a chance to read it early. I’m dying to know what happens next, I need to know what happens next. The cliffhanger that is the end of this book, the epilogue, that last damn line…I’m internally screaming, and will continue to scream until I know what happens next. I need to know the reaction to that last line.

I read that last line and flipped the page to the Author’s Note and nearly chucked my phone across the room. It’s so good!

I highly recommend that you all check out this book when it comes out June 3. You really don’t want to miss it. If high fantasy, sass, romance, prophecies, a journey, plus tons of traumatized characters learning to accept themselves is your thing, then you’ll really like this book.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s