Book Review: A Deal with the Elf King

Title: A Deal with the Elf King

Author: Elise Kova

Pub. Date: November 6, 2020

Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️.5


The elves come for two things: war and wives. In both cases, they come for death.

Three-thousand years ago, humans were hunted by powerful races with wild magic until the treaty was formed. Now, for centuries, the elves have taken a young woman from Luella’s village to be their Human Queen.

To be chosen is seen as a mark of death by the townsfolk. A mark nineteen-year-old Luella is grateful to have escaped as a girl. Instead, she’s dedicated her life to studying herbology and becoming the town’s only healer.

That is, until the Elf King unexpectedly arrives… for her.

Everything Luella had thought she’d known about her life, and herself, was a lie. Taken to a land filled with wild magic, Luella is forced to be the new queen to a cold yet blisteringly handsome Elf King. Once there, she learns about a dying world that only she can save.

The magical land of Midscape pulls on one corner of her heart, her home and people tug on another… but what will truly break her is a passion she never wanted.


This will be a spoiler free review. Thank you to Elise for providing a free advanced copy in exchange for an honest review.

Perfect for fans of A Court of Thorns and Roses and Uprooted, this stand-alone, fantasy romance about a human girl and her marriage to the Elf King is impossible to put down!

When Elise announced this book, needless to say, I was freaking excited.

  1. Because NEW ELISE KOVA BOOK
  2. High fantasy standalone
  3. BATB + Hades and Persephone?!?!

It’s like Elise knows exactly the kind of books I’ve been craving and inhaling recently. Her wizardry knows no bounds. So of course, when this hit my Kindle I immediately started reading it, how could I not?

I fell in love like I do with all her books. I will admit that it started a tad slow, but once it picked up, I was fully invested and read most of it in one sitting. I will also say, that I kind of wished it had been a little spicier. I liked the relationship, but I’m currently totally wrapped up in the NA Spicy High Fantasy genre right now, and I assumed that The Deal with the Elf King was going to be along the same lines.

It’s is! Just more of a PG-13 level. Regardless, I still really, really enjoyed it.

I loved Luella. She was strong, loving, defiant – she knew her worth and was willing to do whatever she could to protect the people she loves.

Luke was a turd. Was not a Fan. That’s all I’ll say about him. Moving on.

Eldas. I liked him, and I’m all for moody fantastical beings, but I kind of wish he’d been angsty-er. I don’t know. While I did like his character and how he and Luella grew closer, there was something about him that didn’t make me fall totally in love with him. Not in the same ways I’ve fallen for Elise’s other male characters.

His relationship with Luella is exactly how you think it will be at the beginning, but her tenacity and sharp tongue win out in the end. I also loved how Luella turned all his friends to her side, and he was left ganged up on. That sounds like it might be terrible, but honestly, it was fantastic.

A Deal with the Elf King is a complete, stand-alone novel, inspired by the tales of Hades and Persephone, as well as Beauty and the Beast, with a “happily ever after” ending. It’s perfect for fantasy romance fans looking for just the right amount of steam and their next slow-burn and swoon-worthy couple.

I liked the world Elise created and how it mixed Beauty and the Beast elements with Hades and Persephone elements, while feeling wholly unique. It was so easy to get lost and swept away in the story. I do wish that the book had been maybe a tad bit longer? That might just be my desperate need for more Elise Kova books.

Overall, I really enjoyed this book, and I hope that Elise ends up writing more books in this world. I love fantasy standalone novels. I can just (for the most part) turn my brain off and just get lost in the story. Swept up and away and just have fun. This book was fun with its various elements and I don’t think you’ll be disappointed if you pick it up.

It’s out November 6, so make sure you pick up your copy then!

5 thoughts on “Book Review: A Deal with the Elf King

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s