Book Review: Falling Down Under (Seven Sisters Vineyards #1)

Title: Falling Down Under

Author: Errin Krystal

Pub. Date: March 9, 2021

Pages: 290

Pub: Trash Dogs Media LLC

Genre: Contemporary Romance

Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️


Sometimes rock bottom is the best place to start.

London socialite Georgia Bailey just lost everything—the estranged father who abandoned her after her mother died, the rock-star boyfriend whose career she built from nothing, and her multi-million-dollar fortune.

Now penniless, she’s forced to return to her grandparents’ vineyard in rural Australia and the waitressing job she left behind. But fitting back into her former life isn’t going to be easy, and things aren’t quite the way she left them.

Her teenage sweetheart, now barely speaking to her, is the hot, grumpy chef she has to work for. Her childhood pet is a full-grown kangaroo that won’t stop sunbathing in the parking lot. And the vineyard, as it turns out, is in serious financial trouble.

But Georgia already lost one family this year. She’s not about to lose another one—not if she can help it.


This will be a spoiler free review. Thank you to NetGalley and the publisher for a free copy in exchange for an honest review. Um, I inhaled this in one sitting. Once I started it, I couldn’t put it down. I’m already ready for the next one and I can’t wait to see which couple is next. I loved this and easily recommend it.

I was really surprised when an eARC of this book hit my inbox. I hadn’t heard of the author before, but two authors I do know – and I love their books – recommended it. So I downloaded it and fell in love. And I need book 2.

I started it and finished it in one day. True, it’s not an incredibly long book, but I couldn’t put it down. I didn’t want to put it down. It has evil stepmothers, life changing events, small town love and a vineyard/restaurant. And I’m 100% a sucker for small town love. Especially when the love interest is the boyfriend who was left behind, utterly broken, but still wholly in love.

Falling Down Under is a coming-home romantic comedy, recommended for fans of Lauren Landish and Sandra Bullock’s Hope Floats.

This book had me lowkey wishing my life played out like this – I want a hot grumpy chef. And the fact that he’s described as Chris Hemsworth meets Charlie Hunnam…

Yes. Please.

Also, this takes place in London and Australia and I love it. Legit, send me to Australia with the promise of finding the love of my life, and I’d be gone in a heartbeat.

But back to the book, and not my own wishful fantasies.

Georgia was such a fun character. I loved that her personality came out through the book. It’s rough in the beginning. We’re just tossed into her world, and it’s crumbling. Everything was okay, and then it wasn’t.

Her stepmother is a bitch.

So is her stepsister for that matter.

And her fucking boyfriend.

They can all go kick a bag of rocks.

Allegra and Miranda were the best – true friends and I loved them. I thought their personalities all melded well together and just seemed like a great group.

But seriously, all the other people in her life, prior to go back to Australia, sucked.

Jax was terrible – was a shit boyfriend. Honestly, he sucked so much. After everything Georgia does for him, he does that?? The fucking audacity. The nerve. Needless to say, I wasn’t a fan.

And the stunt her stepmom pulls – that shit stresses me out. Evil stepmoms stress me out with the injustices they wield.

Then Georgia gets to Australia – and it becomes a little predictable, but it doesn’t matter. I loved that she chose to change her life, change the narrative – after quite a bit of time being sad. Her reunion with Jared is so good, despite its rocky start. She’s just someone you can’t help but like and she quickly wins everyone over. Watching them become friends again, become close is so much fun and just so enjoyable.

There’s even a little bit of steam in this book, and honestly, Georgia – you’re lucky. LOL

Again, Chris Hemsworth meets Charlie Hunnam. He can cook. He can bake and he’s sexy af. Can you blame me?

I loved this book, and I can’t wait to see what happens next in this series. I have my suspicions of who might be the next focus – assuming I’m right about how I think this series is going to play out. If it’s either of the two people I’m thinking of, I cannot wait to watch them fall in love.

This was such a fun, light read. I just sat down and enjoyed it, no pressure. I could just turn my brain off, squeal a little and just have fun. This book is fun, it’s pure enjoyment and such a cute romance. I highly recommend it if you just want to get lost for a little bit. It’s out March 9, so you really don’t have a long wait.

4 thoughts on “Book Review: Falling Down Under (Seven Sisters Vineyards #1)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s