Book Review: Demon King (Claimed By Lucifer #1)

Title: Demon King

Author: Elizabeth Briggs

Pub. Date: October 28, 2020

Pages: 306

Pub: Independently Published

Genre: Paranormal Fantasy Romance

Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️


I made a deal with the devil. Now he’s claimed me as his mate.

When my best friend goes missing in Las Vegas, there’s only one man I can turn to for help.

Lucas Ifer. Billionaire playboy. CEO of Abaddon Inc. King of Sin City.

And…the devil himself?

Lucas—aka Lucifer—agrees to help me, but in exchange he wants one thing: me.

He’s dark, dangerous, and wickedly handsome. Oh, and evil incarnate. I should say no, but I can’t. I’m that desperate.

But when you make a deal with the devil, there’s no escaping it. Now he owns my body for seven nights of sin. Even worse, he owns my soul for all eternity.

I’m Persephone being claimed by Hades, and I have no choice but to enter his underworld and become his dark queen.

Is there any light left in that black heart? Or will his darkness consume me?

Demon King is a sinfully sexy retelling of Hades and Persephone with a Lucifer twist, perfect for fans of Jennifer Armentrout, Sarah J. Maas, Laura Thalassa, and Amelia Hutchins


This will be a spoiler free review. I listened to the audiobook via Audible. If you’re a fan of the show Lucifer, then you’re absolutely 100% going to love this book. It takes place in the same universe as Briggs’ Seraphim Academy (reviews coming soon) and omfg Lucifer is so damn attractive.

I opted to dive into this right after finishing the third book in the Seraphim Academy because I ended up enjoying those way more than I’d anticipated, and I wasn’t ready to say goodbye to the world. This book has been on my radar for a while, but until I read Seraphim Academy, I had no idea that they took place in the same world.

While you don’t have to have read the trilogy prior to Demon King – it stands on its own – I think it provides some background information that is definitely helpful (but not necessary). I recommend just reading the trilogy because it’s pretty good, and the love interests are…steamy.

But this book has everything, fated mates, reincarnation, angels, demons (and other hell creatures), drama, tension and quite a bit of spice.

I really need to stop reading about Lords of the Underworld, because…fuck me.

Lucifer is a charmer. If you like the show, and Tom Ellis’ Lucifer, then, trust me. You’re going to love this one as well. He’s just so…he’s Lucifer. I don’t know how to explain it other than dark, dangerous, charming seduction. Like, I would volunteer to be his fated mate.

I love that he’s dark, dangerous and morally grey, but also soft? Idk, I have such a weakness for men who will literally burn the world down for the ones they love. (Only in fiction, mind you) But dammit, you give me a male character who is a possessive, lovesick, morally grey charming asshole – I’m guaranteed to love him. 

Overall, I loved this book. It’s really well done; it feels familiar but plays with the lore and weaves together a couple of different stories. Hannah is refreshing and fun, has a little bit of bite and despite having her whole world turned upside down, she handles it fairly well. From the moment you start this book, you’re sucked in, and suddenly you’re at the end. Unfortunately, the second one isn’t out on audio yet, but you know damn well I’ve already purchased the second one. The ending to this book leaves you going what the fuck just happened – in the best way possible. I cannot wait to find out what Lucifer just set into motion and what that means for everything.

If you’re looking for a quick, spicy read, featuring charmingly seductive Lucifer (like, seriously, I kept picturing Tom Ellis) then you’re going to want to pick this up right away.

8 thoughts on “Book Review: Demon King (Claimed By Lucifer #1)

  1. I’ve been in the mood for exactly this type of book so I’m so glad I just found your review! I’m def going to check it out, and this author’s other work.

    Also, it seems to me like you might really enjoy Laura Thalassa’s Four Horseman series from the way you describe this male mc. And I definitely recommend it, I love it!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yay! I hope you enjoy it! Def check out Seraphim Academy – the men in that one are equally as yummy 👀

      And her books are on my TBR! I guess I’m gonna have to bump them up 🙈 – thanks for the rec!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s