Book Review: The Other Side of the Sky (The Other Side of the Sky #1)

Title: The Other Side of the Sky

Author: Amie Kaufman & Meagan Spooner

Pub. Date: September 8, 2020

Pages: 480

Pub: HarperTeen

Genre: YA SFF

Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Goodreads


Prince North’s home is in the sky, in a gleaming city held aloft by intricate engines powered by technology. Nimh is the living goddess of her people on the surface, responsible for providing answers, direction—hope.

Linked by a terrifying prophecy and caught between duty and fate, they must choose between saving their people or succumbing to the bond that is forbidden between them.

Magnetic and gorgeously thematic, New York Times bestselling author duo Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner have crafted a gripping tale of magic and logic, fate and choice, and an impossible decision between an empty future and a deadly love. Perfect for fans of Claudia Gray and Laini Taylor.


This will be a spoiler free review. I listened to the audiobook via Audible and once again Amie and Meagan have proven what a wonderful duo they are.

I knew before I even started this book that I was going to love it. Beside Space SF (being my first love) I love the melding of fantasy and science fiction. I know they can often go hand in hand, but in the instances like this book – I’m absolute trash. I eat it up. I love it so much. It fills both desires – for a high fantasy and a science fiction.

It also took me wholly out of reality, and I got lost in the story. I fell in love with the world and the characters and going on the journey with Nimh and North was so amazing. Everything felt so brilliantly fleshed out and real. It felt effortless and vivid. This book is cinematic AF and I really would kill for a Netflix adaptation. I’m starved for SF content.

Speaking of Nimh and North, I fucking loved them. From the first moments they were introduced – such different dynamics, but both trapped in a life they didn’t choose – to the moment they meet (and every moment after) I enjoyed their interactions. I loved how they gravitated around each other – and those nearly touching scenes were brilliant and intense and so, so incredible.

North’s journey is rough, for lack of a better word. His world is thrown into chaos, tossed upside down and everything he thought he knew, was different. He handles it pretty damn well – better than I would.

Nimh is incredible, and her journey to self-discovery and accepting her fate is full of ups and downs and just really intense, vulnerable and emotional moments.

I loved this book.

And then there’s the whole final confrontation / end of the book and omfg. I didn’t see half of what happened, coming. I was *almost* disappointed, because I thought that one of my least favorite ways of resolving conflict was going to play out. But I should have known better – Amie and Meagan wouldn’t do that. So then, what happens next is jaw dropping, aggravating and makes you want to throw the book across the room. Since I listened to it on audio, I just chucked my AirPod on the table and groaned loudly. Then I dove right back in because I needed to know what happens next.

The feelings this book gave me, I just fell in love with how brilliant, rich and expertly crafted it all was. Feelings-wise, it lowkey reminded me of Carve the Mark (and I loved that book) so I’m not complaining. It’s just so good, so enjoyable and so easy to get lost in. I wish I could wipe it from my mind, just so I could meet Nimh and North all over again for the first time.

Every time I read an Amie & Meagan book I’m just blown away at their talent. Every time I read one of their co-authored books, I fall more and more in love. I just love what they’re able to do and how they do it. I One Hundred Percent recommend this book. It’s so good, so fantastic and you’ll be left desperate for the second book – I know I am. Thank goodness it comes out later this year. The way it ended – not fair to leave me hanging.

4 thoughts on “Book Review: The Other Side of the Sky (The Other Side of the Sky #1)

Leave a Reply to alexaabee Cancel reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s