Book Review: Gods & Monsters (Serpent & Dove #3)

Title: Gods & Monsters

Author: Shelby Mahurin

Pub. Date: July 27, 2021

Pages: 624

Pub: HarperTeen

Genre: YA Paranormal Fantasy Romance

Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Goodreads


The spellbinding conclusion to the New York Times and IndieBound bestselling trilogy Serpent & Dove. This stunning fantasy take on French witches and forbidden love is perfect for fans of Sarah J. Maas.

Evil always seeks a foothold. We must not give it one.

After a heartbreaking loss, Lou, Reid, Beau, and Coco are bent on vengeance more than ever before—and none more so than Lou.

But this is no longer the Lou they thought they knew. No longer the Lou that captured a chasseur’s heart. A darkness has settled over her, and this time it will take more than love to drive it out.


This will be a spoiler free review. I listened to the audiobook via Audible. While I really didn’t remember most of what happened in Blood & Honey and it took me a bit to get into this book – ultimately I really enjoyed this conclusion. So many elements that I love in books – that make me mad in like, the best ways possible. If you want to check out my spoiler free review for Serpent & Dove and Blood & Honey – I’ll link them above.

And while you’re at it, you should head on over to We Write at Dawn and check out Sammy’s spoiler free reviews for Serpent & Dove and Blood & Honey – I love her reviews in general, and especially for these books. 

So, I might’ve waited a tad too long post finishing to write my review.

Oops.

But let’s do this.

Like I mentioned, I didn’t really remember much going into this book. It was the same with Blood & Honey, but I just trusted the process and knew it would eventually come back to me.

While I can’t really tell you everything that happened in this book – I will say a lot did happen. Between the tension and drama between Lou and Reid. The tension and drama between Lou, her mother, and the other witches, plus the drama with Beau and Coco – there’s never a dull moment. And you also have the whole bit about the Church being after them.

This book starts and it doesn’t stop until the end – and then, it’s a bit bittersweet. I was happy with how it all ended but was sad to have to say goodbye to the characters. I actually really loved how it all came together, the sweetness of it. The wholly deserved moment.

Honestly, it’s been a wild ride since we first met Lou and Reid.

And speaking of the two of them, their relationship in this book is really tested. I mean, seriously. I know they haven’t had it easy at all over the course of the three books, but damn. From the events at the end of Blood & Honey that affect Lou, to how Reid navigates around her, but almost willfully ignoring the signs that something might be wrong. To the sacrifices they make for each other, and the choices actions they have to make in order to fight for those they love.

The way they exist with each other in this book, kind of reminded me of Aelin and Rowan in Queen of Shadows/Empire of Storms. You could just tell that they’re meant to be together no matter the odds stacked against them. Lou in Reid in this book are high stakes and I loved it. Regardless of the hiccups they encounter along the way and the trials they go through, they remain steadfast.

And once again, Mahurin transported me directly into this world. It didn’t matter that I didn’t immediately remember plot details, the world came to life instantly in my mind. I had no problems imaging what was happening – scenes unfolded and played out like a movie.

Honestly, I loved this book. There were moments where things felt a little disjointed, but I enjoyed the ride. Even when I wasn’t 100% sure what was happening, I was enjoying myself. I fell in love with Lou, Reid and Co in the first book, and I still love them by the end. It was just such a good story, a good journey and I loved going on it. I’m sad that the trilogy is now over, and I definitely plan on rereading them in the future – probably will do the audiobooks again (Serpent & Dove for the first time). Book 1 was amazing, book 2 good, but this third book…so many elements that added drama and I loved it. The stakes were high as were the rewards and I can honestly say that I couldn’t ask for a better ending.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s