Book Review: The Last Legacy

Title: The Last Legacy

Author: Adrienne Young

Pub. Date: September 7, 2021

Pages: 368

Pub: Wednesday Books

Genre: YA Fantasy Romance

Rating: ⭐️⭐️

Goodreads


When a letter from her uncle Henrik arrives on Bryn Roth’s eighteenth birthday, summoning her back to Bastian, Bryn is eager to prove herself and finally take her place in her long-lost family.

Henrik has plans for Bryn, but she must win everyone’s trust if she wants to hold any power in the delicate architecture of the family. It doesn’t take long for her to see that the Roths are entangled in shadows. Despite their growing influence in upscale Bastian, their hands are still in the kind of dirty business that got Bryn’s parents killed years ago. With a forbidden romance to contend with and dangerous work ahead, the cost of being accepted into the Roths may be more than Bryn can pay.

New York Times bestselling author Adrienne Young returns with The Last Legacy, a captivating standalone about family and blood ties, reinventing yourself, and controlling your own destiny.
Continue reading “Book Review: The Last Legacy”

Book Review: Heart of Flames (Vampire Royals of New York: Gabriel)

Title: Heart of Flames

Author: Sarah Piper

Pub. Date: July 16, 2021

Pages: 292

Pub: Two Gnomes Media

Genre: Paranormal Fantasy Romance

Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Goodreads


The road to hell is paved with good intentions… and bad blood.

For the vampire prince and his witch, the plan was simple:

Save the wolf. Capture the traitor who took him. Torture the bastard into spilling the intel on the demons working against them.

But after a string of brutal attacks leaves one vampire near death and the rest reeling from the effects of the blood curse, Gabriel and Jacinda have no choice but to hunt down their enemies at the source:

Hell.

It’s a land of imprisoned souls, unimaginable torments, and ever-shifting realms that make Earth’s most inhospitable places feel like paradise. And for the monsters who call this brutal underworld home, the newcomers look like easy prey.

But for Gabriel and Jacinda, the real enemies aren’t the demons lurking in hell’s darkest corners.

The real enemies are the demons lurking inside their own dark souls.

And the servants of hell won’t rest until every last one is brought to light.
Continue reading “Book Review: Heart of Flames (Vampire Royals of New York: Gabriel)”

Book Review: When Night Breaks (Kingdom of Cards #2)

Title: When Night Breaks

Author: Janella Angeles

Pub. Date: October 5, 2021

Pages: 480

Pub: Wednesday Books

Genre: YA Fantasy Romance

Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️.5

Goodreads


The competition has come to a disastrous end, and Daron Demarco’s fall from grace is now front page news. But little matters to him beyond Kallia, the contestant he fell for who is now lost to this world and in the hands of a dangerous magician. Daron is willing to do whatever it takes to find her. Even if it means embarking on a dark and treacherous journey, risking more than just his life, with no promise of return.

After awaking in darkness, Kallia has never felt more lost. Especially with Jack by her side, the magician with who has the answers but cannot be trusted. Together, they must navigate a dazzling world where mirrors show memories and illusions shadow every corner, one ruled by a powerful game master who could all too easily destroy the world she left behind — and the boy she can’t seem to forget. With time running out, Kallia must embrace her role in a darker destiny, or lose everyone she loves, forever
. Continue reading “Book Review: When Night Breaks (Kingdom of Cards #2)”

Book Review: Thronebreakers (Crownchasers #1)

Title: Thronebreakers

Author: Rebecca Coffindaffer

Pub. Date: October 12, 2021

Pages: 384

Pub: HarperTeen

Genre: YA LGBT SFF

Rating: 🚀🚀🚀🚀🚀

Goodreads


Perfect for fans of Aurora Rising, The Hunger Games, and Three Dark Crowns, this electrifying duology closer is jam-packed with tension and thrills that will hook readers from its first page.

Alyssa Farshot never wanted to rule the empire. But to honor her uncle’s dying wish, she participated in the crownchase, a race across the empire’s 1,001 planets to find the royal seal and win the throne. Alyssa tried to help her friend, Coy, win the crownchase, but just as victory was within their grasp, Edgar Voles killed Coy—and claimed the seal for himself.

Broken-hearted over her friend’s death, Alyssa is hell-bent on revenge. But Edgar is well protected in the kingship. Alyssa will have to rally rivals, friends, and foes from across the empire to take him down and change the course of the galaxy.
Continue reading “Book Review: Thronebreakers (Crownchasers #1)”

Book Review: Luminous

Title: Luminous

Author: Mara Rutherford

Pub. Date: October 5, 2021

Pages: 384

Pub: Inkyard Press

Genre: YA Paranormal Fantasy Romance

Rating: ⭐️⭐️.5

Goodreads


Liora has spent her life in hiding, knowing discovery could mean falling prey to the king’s warlock, Darius, who uses mages’ magic to grow his own power. But when her worst nightmare comes to pass, Darius doesn’t take her. Instead, he demands that her younger sister return to the capital with him. To make matters worse, Evran, Liora’s childhood friend and the only one who knows her secret, goes missing following Darius’s visit, leaving her without anyone to turn to.

To find Evran and to save her sister, Liora must embrace the power she has always feared. But the greatest danger she’ll face is yet to come, for Darius has plans in motion that will cause the world to fall into chaos–and Liora and Evran may be the only ones who can stop him.
Continue reading “Book Review: Luminous”

Book Review: Kingdom of the Curse (Kingdom of the Wicked #2)

Title: Kingdom of the Cursed

Author: Kerri Maniscalco

Pub. Date: October 5, 2021

Pages: 448

Pub: Hodder & Stoughton

Genre: YA/NA Historical Fiction Fantasy Romance

Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Goodreads


From #1 New York Times bestselling author of Stalking Jack the Ripper Kerri Maniscalco comes the sizzling, sweepingly romantic sequel to Kingdom of the Wicked!

One sister.
Two sinful princes.
Infinite deception with a side of revenge…Welcome to Hell.


After selling her soul to become Queen of the Wicked, Emilia travels to the Seven Circles with the enigmatic Prince of Wrath, where she’s introduced to a seductive world of vice.

She vows to do whatever it takes to avenge her beloved sister, Vittoria…even if that means accepting the hand of the Prince of Pride, the king of demons.

The first rule in the court of the Wicked? Trust no one. With back-stabbing princes, luxurious palaces, mysterious party invitations, and conflicting clues about who really killed her twin, Emilia finds herself more alone than ever before. Can she even trust Wrath, her one-time ally in the mortal world…or is he keeping dangerous secrets about his true nature?

Emilia will be tested in every way as she seeks a series of magical objects that will unlock the clues of her past and the answers she craves…
Continue reading “Book Review: Kingdom of the Curse (Kingdom of the Wicked #2)”

Book Review: The Maiden Ship (The Maiden Ship #1)

Title: The Maiden Ship

Author: Micheline Ryckman

Pub. Date: February 7, 2020

Pages: 364

Pub: Whimsical Publishing

Genre: YA Fantasy Romance

Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️.5

Goodreads


Dain Alloway was only nine years old when he began a new life with his father, sailing aboard The Maiden. Eight years later, the aristocratic city-boy turned merchant-sailor feels like he lives with one foot on land, and one foot in the sea. Life floats smoothly by until the night he wakes to find a mysterious woman in his cabin.

The events that unfold after her appearance transform Dain’s world. Now, hunted by empty-faced demons, he finds himself thrown into a dangerous web of intrigue and magic. As the crisis grows, the young sailor discovers powerful gifts buried deep within, talents that might shift the tide of a centuries-old war. Whether or not he’s ready, Dain will have to risk it all for the salvation and freedom of those he loves.
Continue reading “Book Review: The Maiden Ship (The Maiden Ship #1)”

Book Review: Awakened

Title: Awakened

Author: Ciara Duggan

Pub. Date: September 7, 2021

Pages: 288

Pub: Parliament House

Genre: YA Paranormal Fantasy

Rating: ⭐️⭐️.5

Goodreads


After losing her parents in an accident only she survived, Hannah is desperate for answers. Haunted by the events of that tragic night, she struggles to move on, yearning for some deeper truth about her loss.

But when it comes time to turn a new page and move cross country for college, she vows to leave the past behind. After all, Bellcliff University is a thousand miles away from the ghosts nipping at her heels.

Yet when Hannah accidentally awakens a handsome witch from a hidden cave near campus, she realizes he isn’t the only thing stirring out of slumber. Hannah has roused all magic…including the devil herself.

As if spells, curses, and college jitters weren’t enough, this witch claims to know Hannah from four centuries prior—and their connection is more than casual.

Thrust into a world of sorcery and monsters, Hannah must fight to keep the magic she’d unleashed from claiming a price far too steep for her to pay. 
Continue reading “Book Review: Awakened”

Book Review:  Like a Love Song

Title: Like a Love Song

Author: Gabriela Martins

Pub. Date: August 3, 2021

Pages: 304

Pub: Underlined/Delacorte

Genre: LGBT YA Contemporary Romance

Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️.5

Goodreads


This debut paperback original romance follows a Latina teen pop star whose image takes a dive after a messy public breakup, until she’s set up with a swoon-worthy fake boyfriend.

Fake boyfriend. Real heartbreak?

Natalie is living her dream: topping the charts and setting records as a Brazilian pop star…until she’s dumped spectacularly on live television. Not only is it humiliating—it could end her career.

Her PR team’s desperate plan? A gorgeous yet oh-so-fake boyfriend. Nati reluctantly agrees, but William is not what she expected. She was hoping for a fierce bad boy—not a soft-hearted British indie film star. While she fights her way back to the top with a sweet and surprisingly swoon-worthy boy on her arm, she starts to fall for William—and realizes that maybe she’s the biggest fake of them all. Can she reclaim her voice and her heart?
Continue reading “Book Review:  Like a Love Song”

Book Review: Sanctum (Blackwater Pack #1)

Title: Sanctum

Author: Hannah McBride

Pub. Date: July 24, 2021

Pages: 532

Pub: Not Listed

Genre: UpYA/NA Paranormal Fantasy Romance

Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Goodreads


A survivor on the run

Barely escaping with her life, Skye Markham and her mother flee their sadistic pack and seek sanctuary within Blackwater. Against all odds, Skye tries to create a new life for herself. A life she thought only existed in dreams is now within reach.

An alpha with a pack to protect

Remy Holt has spent years guarding his pack – his family – from threats as the next alpha in line. When the Blackwater pack decides to help the Markhams, Skye becomes one of his own … In more ways than one, if his wolf has anything to say about it.

A bond unlike any other

As Skye and Remy’s lives collide, the shifter world starts to implode. Missing shifters, a dying population, and pack wars are causing their sanctuary to crumble around them. Skye thought she was finally safe … but maybe there’s no such thing.
Continue reading “Book Review: Sanctum (Blackwater Pack #1)”