Book Review: This Vicious Grace (The Last Finestra #1)

Title: This Vicious Grace

Author: Emily Thiede

Pub. Date: June 28, 2022

Pages: 448

Pub: Wednesday Books

Genre: YA Fantasy

Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Goodreads


Three weddings. Three funerals. Alessa’s gift from the gods is supposed to magnify a partner’s magic, not kill every suitor she touches.

Now, with only weeks left until a hungry swarm of demons devours everything on her island home, Alessa is running out of time to find a partner and stop the invasion. When a powerful priest convinces the faithful that killing Alessa is the island’s only hope, her own soldiers try to assassinate her.

Desperate to survive, Alessa hires Dante, a cynical outcast marked as a killer, to become her personal bodyguard. But as rebellion explodes outside the gates, Dante’s dark secrets may be the biggest betrayal. He holds the key to her survival and her heart, but is he the one person who can help her master her gift or destroy her once and for all?

Emily Thiede’s exciting fantasy debut, This Vicious Grace, will keep readers turning the pages until the devastating conclusion and leave them primed for more!
Continue reading “Book Review: This Vicious Grace (The Last Finestra #1)”

Book Review: A Touch of Malice (Hades & Persephone #3)

Title: A Touch of Malice

Author: Scarlett St. Clair

Pub. Date: May 25, 2021

Pages: 418

Pub: Not Listed

Genre: Fantasy Romance Retelling

Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Goodreads


Persephone and Hades are engaged. In retaliation, Demeter summons a snowstorm that cripples New Greece, and refuses to lift the blizzard unless her daughter calls off her engagement.

When the Olympians intervene, Persephone finds her future in the hands of ancient gods, and they are divided. Do they allow Persephone to marry Hades and go to war with Demeter or prohibit their union and take up arms against the God of the Dead?

Nothing is certain but the promise of war.
Continue reading “Book Review: A Touch of Malice (Hades & Persephone #3)”

Book Review: The Last Legacy

Title: The Last Legacy

Author: Adrienne Young

Pub. Date: September 7, 2021

Pages: 368

Pub: Wednesday Books

Genre: YA Fantasy Romance

Rating: ⭐️⭐️

Goodreads


When a letter from her uncle Henrik arrives on Bryn Roth’s eighteenth birthday, summoning her back to Bastian, Bryn is eager to prove herself and finally take her place in her long-lost family.

Henrik has plans for Bryn, but she must win everyone’s trust if she wants to hold any power in the delicate architecture of the family. It doesn’t take long for her to see that the Roths are entangled in shadows. Despite their growing influence in upscale Bastian, their hands are still in the kind of dirty business that got Bryn’s parents killed years ago. With a forbidden romance to contend with and dangerous work ahead, the cost of being accepted into the Roths may be more than Bryn can pay.

New York Times bestselling author Adrienne Young returns with The Last Legacy, a captivating standalone about family and blood ties, reinventing yourself, and controlling your own destiny.
Continue reading “Book Review: The Last Legacy”

Book Review: Heart of Flames (Vampire Royals of New York: Gabriel)

Title: Heart of Flames

Author: Sarah Piper

Pub. Date: July 16, 2021

Pages: 292

Pub: Two Gnomes Media

Genre: Paranormal Fantasy Romance

Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Goodreads


The road to hell is paved with good intentions… and bad blood.

For the vampire prince and his witch, the plan was simple:

Save the wolf. Capture the traitor who took him. Torture the bastard into spilling the intel on the demons working against them.

But after a string of brutal attacks leaves one vampire near death and the rest reeling from the effects of the blood curse, Gabriel and Jacinda have no choice but to hunt down their enemies at the source:

Hell.

It’s a land of imprisoned souls, unimaginable torments, and ever-shifting realms that make Earth’s most inhospitable places feel like paradise. And for the monsters who call this brutal underworld home, the newcomers look like easy prey.

But for Gabriel and Jacinda, the real enemies aren’t the demons lurking in hell’s darkest corners.

The real enemies are the demons lurking inside their own dark souls.

And the servants of hell won’t rest until every last one is brought to light.
Continue reading “Book Review: Heart of Flames (Vampire Royals of New York: Gabriel)”

Book Review: When Night Breaks (Kingdom of Cards #2)

Title: When Night Breaks

Author: Janella Angeles

Pub. Date: October 5, 2021

Pages: 480

Pub: Wednesday Books

Genre: YA Fantasy Romance

Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️.5

Goodreads


The competition has come to a disastrous end, and Daron Demarco’s fall from grace is now front page news. But little matters to him beyond Kallia, the contestant he fell for who is now lost to this world and in the hands of a dangerous magician. Daron is willing to do whatever it takes to find her. Even if it means embarking on a dark and treacherous journey, risking more than just his life, with no promise of return.

After awaking in darkness, Kallia has never felt more lost. Especially with Jack by her side, the magician with who has the answers but cannot be trusted. Together, they must navigate a dazzling world where mirrors show memories and illusions shadow every corner, one ruled by a powerful game master who could all too easily destroy the world she left behind — and the boy she can’t seem to forget. With time running out, Kallia must embrace her role in a darker destiny, or lose everyone she loves, forever
. Continue reading “Book Review: When Night Breaks (Kingdom of Cards #2)”

Book Review: Thronebreakers (Crownchasers #1)

Title: Thronebreakers

Author: Rebecca Coffindaffer

Pub. Date: October 12, 2021

Pages: 384

Pub: HarperTeen

Genre: YA LGBT SFF

Rating: 🚀🚀🚀🚀🚀

Goodreads


Perfect for fans of Aurora Rising, The Hunger Games, and Three Dark Crowns, this electrifying duology closer is jam-packed with tension and thrills that will hook readers from its first page.

Alyssa Farshot never wanted to rule the empire. But to honor her uncle’s dying wish, she participated in the crownchase, a race across the empire’s 1,001 planets to find the royal seal and win the throne. Alyssa tried to help her friend, Coy, win the crownchase, but just as victory was within their grasp, Edgar Voles killed Coy—and claimed the seal for himself.

Broken-hearted over her friend’s death, Alyssa is hell-bent on revenge. But Edgar is well protected in the kingship. Alyssa will have to rally rivals, friends, and foes from across the empire to take him down and change the course of the galaxy.
Continue reading “Book Review: Thronebreakers (Crownchasers #1)”

Book Review: Luminous

Title: Luminous

Author: Mara Rutherford

Pub. Date: October 5, 2021

Pages: 384

Pub: Inkyard Press

Genre: YA Paranormal Fantasy Romance

Rating: ⭐️⭐️.5

Goodreads


Liora has spent her life in hiding, knowing discovery could mean falling prey to the king’s warlock, Darius, who uses mages’ magic to grow his own power. But when her worst nightmare comes to pass, Darius doesn’t take her. Instead, he demands that her younger sister return to the capital with him. To make matters worse, Evran, Liora’s childhood friend and the only one who knows her secret, goes missing following Darius’s visit, leaving her without anyone to turn to.

To find Evran and to save her sister, Liora must embrace the power she has always feared. But the greatest danger she’ll face is yet to come, for Darius has plans in motion that will cause the world to fall into chaos–and Liora and Evran may be the only ones who can stop him.
Continue reading “Book Review: Luminous”

Book Review: Kingdom of the Cursed (Kingdom of the Wicked #2)

Title: Kingdom of the Cursed

Author: Kerri Maniscalco

Pub. Date: October 5, 2021

Pages: 448

Pub: Hodder & Stoughton

Genre: YA/NA Historical Fiction Fantasy Romance

Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Goodreads


From #1 New York Times bestselling author of Stalking Jack the Ripper Kerri Maniscalco comes the sizzling, sweepingly romantic sequel to Kingdom of the Wicked!

One sister.
Two sinful princes.
Infinite deception with a side of revenge…Welcome to Hell.

After selling her soul to become Queen of the Wicked, Emilia travels to the Seven Circles with the enigmatic Prince of Wrath, where she’s introduced to a seductive world of vice.

She vows to do whatever it takes to avenge her beloved sister, Vittoria…even if that means accepting the hand of the Prince of Pride, the king of demons.

The first rule in the court of the Wicked? Trust no one. With back-stabbing princes, luxurious palaces, mysterious party invitations, and conflicting clues about who really killed her twin, Emilia finds herself more alone than ever before. Can she even trust Wrath, her one-time ally in the mortal world…or is he keeping dangerous secrets about his true nature?

Emilia will be tested in every way as she seeks a series of magical objects that will unlock the clues of her past and the answers she craves… Continue reading “Book Review: Kingdom of the Cursed (Kingdom of the Wicked #2)”

Book Review: Sanctum (Blackwater Pack #1)

Title: Sanctum

Author: Hannah McBride

Pub. Date: July 24, 2021

Pages: 532

Pub: Not Listed

Genre: UpYA/NA Paranormal Fantasy Romance

Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Goodreads


A survivor on the run

Barely escaping with her life, Skye Markham and her mother flee their sadistic pack and seek sanctuary within Blackwater. Against all odds, Skye tries to create a new life for herself. A life she thought only existed in dreams is now within reach.

An alpha with a pack to protect

Remy Holt has spent years guarding his pack – his family – from threats as the next alpha in line. When the Blackwater pack decides to help the Markhams, Skye becomes one of his own … In more ways than one, if his wolf has anything to say about it.

A bond unlike any other

As Skye and Remy’s lives collide, the shifter world starts to implode. Missing shifters, a dying population, and pack wars are causing their sanctuary to crumble around them. Skye thought she was finally safe … but maybe there’s no such thing.
Continue reading “Book Review: Sanctum (Blackwater Pack #1)”

Book Review: Ashes of Chaos (The Legacy of the Nine Realms #2)

Title: Ashes of Chaos

Author: Amelia Hutchins

Pub. Date: September 29, 2020

Pages: 496

Pub: Not Listed

Genre: Paranormal Fantasy Romance

Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Goodreads


Creating a new House of Magic is hard work. Aria knew she had a tall task ahead of her, cleaning up the mess her family had made in the Nine Realms, but nothing could have prepared her for the horrors that awaited within the Nine Realms.

Dark magic has taken hold of the lands as Aria finds herself in the middle of an ongoing war while playing cat and mouse with Knox, who hunts her relentlessly. To make matters worse, Aria’s creature has grown impatient and is doing everything she can to get back to the monster within Knox, even knowing that Aria’s heart is on the line.

How far will Aria go to protect those she loves from Knox’s wrath? How long can she evade the man stalking her every waking hour as her body and mind fight against the growing need for him to claim her? Can she break the curse that has plagued the Hecate bloodline for over 500 years while protecting her heart?

Maybe the answers lie with the mysterious silver-haired men that have come to Aria’s aid, or perhaps they are just like everyone else wanting to kill or claim her, realizing she is the key to winning the war. Aria intends to bring the Nine Realms and the male stalking her to their knees in this fast-paced, action-packed, and sexy epic fantasy adventure.
Continue reading “Book Review: Ashes of Chaos (The Legacy of the Nine Realms #2)”